One of my all time favourite bands are Crosby Stills & Nash, both with and without Neil Young. They were pretty early amongst bands that I discovered in my early teens and that I still really love, Rod Stewart is another. My dad left me his record collection of around 100 vinyl’s, well technically my mum inherited it but since she only listened to Atlantic Crossing with Rod Stewart that was hers, my dads collection was more or less mine. I started to listen to the records after how impressive the covers were, therefore The Who Sell Out was pretty early. I thought that John Entwistle reminded me of my dad and that Keith Moon looked awesome, well actually it was probably Roger Daltrey sitting in bathtub full of baked beans that caught my eye first.

The Who Sell out

I went through album after album and discovered more and more music. Most people I know discovered music through others, someone recommended something etc, but since most of my friends just listened to heavy metal I had to discover most other genres by myself, without any instructions, one record at the time. I really liked the cover of Buffalo Springfield’s last album, Last time around, and as soon as I put it on I realised that both Neil Young and Stephen Stills were amazing. After a bit of Byrds and Hollies on top of that I fell in love with David Crosby and Graham Nash as well and after reading a bit about the members I managed to put the pieces together and I went and bought my first Crosby Stills & Nash record.

Crosby, Stills & Nash

Soon after I met this girl and I still feel really sorry for her because I completely neglected her since her dad was a huge Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young fan. Every time I went over to see her I spent most of the time listening to Helplessly hoping with her father on his fancy Hi-Fi equipment, he could be the one to blame for my later obsession with good Hi-Fi sound as well. Years later I played some Buffalo Springfield for my mum when she was over at mine. When Kind Woman came on, the final track on the Buffalo Springfield album I got from my dad, the song I loved and that had started this whole Crosby, Stills & Nash thing, something changed in my mum, she just turned to me and said, “but this was your dads favourite song”. What are the odds, how do you manage to share favourite songs with someone you have never met, from a record you picked by change because Neil Young looked so cool on the cover?

Buffalo Springfield

Here is my Crosby Stills, Nash & Young playlist in Spotify.

Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young

