I’ve just read the 485 rules posted so far on Walker Lamond’s 1001 Rules for my unborn son blog and I can’t say I agree with even half of them. Of course some are obviously true, like rule 1. You Can Never Overdress or rule 14. Men with facial hair have something to hide. Still, I’m not that impressed except for the effort they guy has put in to write a book containing 1001 rules that he wants his future son to follow. I did like some of the quotes from famous people that he had thrown in between his own words of wisdom, my favourites are listed here below. Now I have to give you some of my own rules of advice, not only for my unborn son to follow but also my male friends and people in my close surroundings.

5. Always wear a waistcoat. It keeps your profile slim and you will look well dressed even without a suit jacket and a tie.

4. Only wear “real” shoes made out of leather, sneakers are not suitable for anyone over twenty. Also, no one looks good in flip-flops, not even on the beach.

3. Never combine your hat with sunglasses even if it’s very sunny. Only really old well dressed men can pull that off, preferable Spanish old men that smokes cigarillos.

2. If you want to smoke a pipe always smoke a straight billiard, unless you are old, have a full beard and happen to be a writer or sailor.

1. Never wear cheap hats or sunglasses. Cheap hats tend to look fake and plastic which will make you look out of place and like you are trying to be someone you are not. Cheap sunglasses can seriously damage your eyes so never settle for anything less than 100& UV protection. They also tend to look extremely plastic and ill-fitting, just like a cheap hat.

“I can’t be left unsupervised. Ron Wood

“Always do sober what you said you’d do drunk. That will teach you to keep your mouth shut. Ernest Hemingway

“Be like a duck. Remain calm on the surface and paddle like hell underneath. Michael Caine

“Be always at war with your vices, at peace with your neighbors, and let each new year find you a better man. Benjamin Frankiln

“What do you expect from a place where men wear sandals? Chuck Bass

“The public has always expected me to be a playboy, and a decent chap never lets his public down. Errol Flynn

“Always read something that will make you look good if you die in the middle of it. P.J. O’Rourke

“Any word you have to hunt for in a thesaurus is the wrong word. There are no exceptions to this rule. Stephen King

“By the time a man realizes that maybe his father was right, he usually has a son who thinks he’s wrong. Charles Wadsworth

